Author Interview with D.B. Kennison

Today on the blog we are featuring D.B. Kennison, author of Still Life.

DB Kennison.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

Having published my debut novel only a year ago, I’m a total newbie at the author thing. I started writing in ‘08 when the economy tanked and I suddenly had time on my hands. Over the next six years I worked to develop a sense of what this writing thing was all about, taking classes along the way, and then putting what I learned into practice on my story. Now I’m addicted to story telling.

 

One reviewer for Still Life wrote, “I don’t usually read cop and private detective stories, but WOW this one really broke out of the mold for that genre.” How did you come up with the idea for Still Life?

I grew up in Denver and later moved to a small Midwest town. Life here is vastly different from the big city. Everyone knows everyone and your business is not your own. So I thought…what if a murder took place in a small town and the detective in charge is from the city. The ametuer slueth who gets caught up in the mystery is making headway faster than the cops because she’s got the scoop via her community grapevine. At every turn the detective and she butt heads and fight mutual attraction. Viola, the story began.

 

Can readers expect more books in the Randi Lassiter series? What are you working on now?

Yes, there will definitely be more books in the series!  In fact, I’m just finishing a re-write of book two called THE DARK SIDE. From there, I’m already penning book one in a separate series featuring the FBI  crime analyst that appears in STILL LIFE. She’s a bit more hard-boiled and the series will be stronger in the suspense/thriller arena. I am so excited with this first storyline in the Becca Howell Series and I can’t wait to start writing it!

 

What will you do differently when publishing your next book? What worked well the first time?

Back in February my publisher announced a winding down and impending closure. It was sad and sent numerous authors into a tail spin (me included). I asked for my rights back on #2 and will be Indie publishing the rest of the series. With the new spin-off series I’ll try querying agents to see if I can get a bigger publisher to pick up the books and just go from there.

While it was a hair plucking exercise to prepare queries, it worked well for me the first time and I have to start somewherel. Writing and publishing is such an adventure and I’ve learned to just go with the flow, take it a day at a time.

StillLife_EPUB copy.png

What would you say is one of your biggest writing challenges? Biggest source of success?

The biggest writing challenge I have is finding a balance between writing and everything else. I have a family. I have a day job. It’s hard to make it all work effortlessly when I’m neck deep in a story and I have to give it up for something else. All though the story is never far from my thoughts It’s hard for me to pick up where I left off.

The biggest source of any success I’ve had is the encouragement and support of my husband, close friends, and my street team. Writing is a journey of ups and downs, a roller coaster ride of celebrations one minute and a plummet into self-doubt the next. I’ve been lucky to have superb cheerleaders to rally me back into action.

You mention in your bio that you live in Wisconsin. When you aren’t writing, what do you do for fun?

I love doing anything creative. I make jewelry, sculpt, paint, woodwork, quilt, garden, and just about anything else that inspires me. My creative mind is hard to shut off, which is why it’s better when I’m writing. The voices in my head are more at peace *wink.

 

What have you read lately that knocked your socks off? What’s coming up next on your TBR?

I recently finished reading THE GIRL IN THE MAZE by R.K. Jackson. It’s a psychological thriller set in a Southern coastal town. There was an unexpected twist in the middle that caught me off guard and made it a memorable read. My TBR list is massive so it’s always hard to choose a new read.  I’m tempted to start Katherine Ramsland’s CONFESSION OF A SERIAL KILLER. It’s the untold story of Dennis Rader–the BTK killer. The multi-published Ramsland has spent a lifetime learning about the psychopathy of a killer and this case study will be homework for my first book in the Becca Howell Series. But…I’m also toying with starting a Lisa Unger book–INK AND BONE.

 

Where can readers find out more about you or your work? On which sites are you most active?

I’m probably most active on Facebook. Here are my links:

blog: whispersintheair.com    website: dbkennison.com      

twitter: @dbkennison             Facebook: DBKennison

Author signing photo.jpg

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

