Author Interview with Martine Lewis

Today on the blog we are featuring Martine Lewis, author of Crossing the Barrier – book one in The Gray Eyes Series!

Martine Lewis.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

I start writing when I was eleven years old, and have written on and off ever since. I wrote mostly fanfictions and some bad originals when I was younger, mostly inspired by people I knew. Fanfiction was a good way to hone my skill and when I tackled the writing of my own original fiction, I was ready.

Now, I write original fictions with no end in sight.

On a more personal note, I am an avid roller skater, I love the beach, and I adore cats. I also work as a Planner/Scheduler to maintain my writing “addiction”  🙂 

I saw on Twitter you are working on editing feedback for book two!! What can you tell us about it?

Yes, book two is actually almost completed. It went through proofread in June then formatting in July, run the proofs and we should be ready for the September 20, 2016 release. I am very excited about it. 

And I just finished the blurb! So here is an exclusivity, just for your readers!!!

A girl stuck in her father’s mold.

Olivia Kendall looks forward to her senior year of high school. But her world is shaken when a new boy walks into school, a boy she cannot help but be drawn to. But her father’s ideas for her life don’t include Alex.

A boy with a gift, desperate for a real home.

Alex Parker begins his senior year in yet another school. The only person he looks forward to seeing again is Olivia Kendall, a girl he knew in second grade, a girl who never made fun of him. One touch, and he knows what he’s suspected all along: there is something unearthly about their connection.

 Can the two stay together despite Alex’s secret, despite a town that seems to conspire against them?

While the characters are new in this book, all the books are related, never fear. And of course, I am planning on having a lot of content on the internet for readers, including deleted scenes, new short stories, character bio and the likes. It’s still under construction but I want to get there no later than Christmas 2016.

You describe your work as contemporary coming-of-age romance fiction (young adult/new adult) with a twist. What’s makes your work different from others in the same genre?

I have empaths. That’s the twist. My empaths deal with real life situations in a school setting (for most of them) and they have to go through life knowing (or believing) no-one else is like them. They discover love, they have adversity, they are growing up, and it’s painful. But after all, these books are also romance so you have to have a happy ending.

While some series take two characters and drag them through the entire series of books, I have decided to go the Tammy Faulkner way: take a group of characters with something in common and each book covers two characters. But don’t worry, the website will contain plenty of extra content for the characters that were in the previous books.

Lily (2).png

On your blog you mention starting off writing bandfiction and fanfiction. Do you still write fanfic?

Unfortunately, not at this time. I do not have time as I spend all of it writing original fiction. My goal is to have 12 books out by 2020 (two series in the same universe)

And because you write Harry Potter fanfiction, I have to ask. Which book is your favorite???

Order of the Phoenix! Oh, yes, absolutely!

The blurb for Crossing the Barrier is very unique. Where did you get the idea for the series?

Believe it or not, the entire series, and my universe for that matter, was inspired by the first 20 minutes of the TV show Roswell. And no, I do not have aliens in my books. It’s another dimension of the show that inspired the books.

Where do you draw your inspiration? Are you inspired by any other authors’ work?

Mostly TV. When I write my own originals, I am not particularly inspired by other authors. However, I did take Tammy Faulkner‘s idea of having each title cover different couples.

Malakai (1).png

What have you read lately that really wowed you? What’s coming up next on your TBR?

Cambria Hebert #hashtag series is a total 6 stars out of 5 for me. I read her series three times in less than a year. I completely love it. And her next book in that same universe came out on June 3! This one is definitely on my TBR.

Where can readers find out more about you or your work? On which sites are you most active?

I’m definitely the most active on Facebook, both on my profile and page.

Page is: www.facebook.com/martinelewisauthor

I also do some twitter at www.twitter.com/authormartine and a little bit of Instagram at www.instagram.com/martinelewisauthor

I try to keep my blog up to date but I’m very bad at it… but here is my website anyway www.martinelewisauthor.com

And of course, stay tune on the website as the new content will be posted there.

Any parting words for our readers?

Thank you for being part of this great community of readers and thank you for buying books. Without you, we wouldn’t be successful 🙂

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

No problem! It’s my pleasure 🙂 

If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

J. Haney  |  Ella Miles  |  Eve Langlais  |  Hilary Grossman

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Martine Lewis

Leave a Reply

