Author Interview with Angelica Kate

Today on the blog we have author Angelica Kate. Her latest novel Parallel Lives released April 2, 2016.

Angelica Kate.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

I am a busy working mom that has always written in journals, letters and books. A couple years ago I had a friend that had written all her life also but was starting to explore getting her book of short stories published, a lifetime goal for her, but she died unexpectedly before doing so and became the catalyst for me not having a similar regret. Four months after her passing I published my first book Loving Abby with a dedication straight from her mouth. I started with several already completed works that I had in files, and then grew the collection from there as an indie author.

You have over 20 books listed on Amazon. What’s your secret to success? How do you stay motivated to write?

I absolutely love to write, and I find that every news story or personal blog I read gives me fodder for my writing. Many of my stories are about contemporary issues such as foster care, cancer, domestic violence and the like but told from the victim’s perspective. I love to tell a great coming back from the edge story of perseverance, love and redemption. Writing provides an escape for me from the daily grind of my 9 to 5 job as an Inventory Manager and so I write nearly every day in some form.

What’s next for you as a writer? What are you working on now?

I am working on a new novel length book, whereas many of my stories are novella short stories. This one is about a young girl that witnesses the murder of her mother and becomes a selective mute tuning out the world around her until she meets a woman that has experienced a similar loss. These two broken souls bring each other comfort and a kind of camaraderie neither found elsewhere, and in the process both get a new lease on life. Out of Solitude is the name of it, and I’m very excited to see that one come to fruition ad get feedback, once published, from the readers.

What inspired you to write the Aging Out series?

We were foster parents for a number of years back in Oklahoma and continue to remain involved in numerous charities supporting this vital service by so many of raising other people’s children. The stories of the children we took care of were heartbreaking and yet so many of them were finding ways to rise above their history and do great things like graduate high school, college, and giving back in the community. In our home town a community had been started of homes for foster families much like that depicted in the series to allow community, family and support to the fearless families that took in foster children and provided them a second chance. I wanted this story to be told, not just of the dark side of this broken system, but the of the children that rise above their lot in life and the families they build in the non-traditional manner that this system brings to bear upon them.

What is one thing you wish readers knew about you or your work?

I lived in a personal situation that was not ideal as a child, having a schizophrenic father that was abusive and many role models that were anything but for a child of growing up. I feel for the victim in every story, and want their stories, triumphs, loves and inspirations to come through in the stories I tell. I never want people to pick up the newspaper tomorrow and give more consideration to the monster being put forward, but consider the victim that will get up today and start over. If you know someone that needs a helping hand, be that for them and as a community we can change the world one tiny gesture at a time. That is what I hope they get from my stories is inspiration to get involved and look at everyone as the potential they hold not as the story that is told about them.

What’s the verdict – did your move to Sarasota increase your creativity? J

It definitely has increased the creativity by making such a drastic life change. You have to start over, build new relationships, find new places to worship, go to school, shop and meet new faces every day. For an author this is a smorgasbord of writing material and rips us out of the rut that life places us in when we do the same thing time and again. Besides going from the landlocked mid-west to this coast and so much water, politically, socially and in every way possible the viewpoints are different which causes you to look at things in a new perspective. I find my writing renewed and changed due to the move, and it was definitely a wonderful a catalyst for my writing.

What books are up next for you on your TBR list? Is there anything out now you can’t wait to read?

Wow, this list is expansive as I have over hundreds of waiting books on my Goodreads list of wanting to read. I love supporting indie authors and try to read books by individuals such as myself following their passion and maybe not popular by bestselling standards. I love paranormal, romance and inspirational style books and read about a book every other day or so making me a voracious reader.

Where can readers find out more about you or your books? On which sites are you most active?

I am always on Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads. I love reading as much as writing and am always posting reviews, feedback for other indie authors as well as trolling for my next great read. Additionally, I respond to every email and post directed to me for information which has helped me connect with other readings my books in ways I hadn’t expected.

Is there anything I haven’t asked you that you want to share with the Book Buddy readers?

NO this is a pretty exhaustive list. I appreciate this opportunity to share a little about my books and myself with your readers. Thank you!

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

J. Haney  |  Ella Miles  |  Jennifer L. Allen  |  K.D. Wood

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

One thought on “Author Interview with Angelica Kate

Leave a Reply

