Author Interview Series: Carrie Thomas

The Author Interview Series returns!! Today we are catching up with Carrie Thomas, author of young adult and new adult romances.

Carrie Thomas.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

Hello! I’m so happy to be here. First, I am a wife and a mom of two teen boys. Safe to say, I’m on my own writing about romance. Ha! I didn’t start writing until I was thirty-three years old. I started reading a lot and was super disappointed that I’d missed out on so many awesome authors and stories from when I was younger. So basically, I wrote a book that would have gotten me excited to read when I was fifteen. Three weeks later, I had Hooked.

You posted a sneak peek on Facebook. Can you tell us what you are working on? When will it be out?

I am in edits now for a YA romance called Travesty. This book is a darker themed book, one I haven’t released before. It follows a girl who is abducted by two adults who are the foster parents to the male love interest. This book is gritty, desperate, and sweet all rolled into one. We all know someone who has lived through a tragedy, but I wanted to write about it. I wanted a romance that was more about the emotional connection between two people. These characters love each other because they have to. There is no one else in the world who knows what they’ve been through. That carries them through the whole book. Plans to release are in August, 2016.

You now have four published books on Amazon. What have you learned since publishing that first book?

Tons…and nothing. Ha! I’ve learned that edits are very important. I’ve learned that covers are very important. I’ve also learned that for me, writing the book is the easiest part of self-publishing. I became published last year with Blue Tulip Publishing and I have learned so much from that experience as well. I feel like as with any kind of career, you learn as you go. I learn something new every day in this business.

teaser.jpg

Are the Dream Girls books intended to be read in a specific order? Do they work as standalones? Where did you get the idea for the story?

Yes, they were written with the intention of someone reading them in order, but they are standalones. I knew some people would either read them out of order or only be interested in one character and only want to read about that character’s story. But, all characters are in all three books because their friendships are so strong throughout the series. The story just came to because I’m a girls’ night out kind of girl. I make time for my friends and have since high school.  There is nothing like a belly laugh with your girlfriends, so I wanted to write a romance series about girlfriends who find their men in their journey to becoming women.

In your Amazon bio you mention being married with two sons. How do you balance your family life with advancing your writing career?

Luckily, my family is supportive of my writing career.  Don’t get me wrong…they don’t know a thing about romance, but they give me time to write and will do the dishes or fold the clothes. They work around me and I don’t even have to ask them. 🙂 My husband and I have been married for eighteen years. I remember before we even had kids, we were adamant about being a unit. Becoming one, and moving through our lives as such. My boys keep us busy with baseball, basketball, football, guitar, school—you name it, but each of us respects the others’ ventures and support each other. Both of my boys go to each other’s games. They are five years apart, but very close. My husband and I have spent our entire marriage cultivating that. It is a conscious effort on all of our parts and I am so blessed. My family is my greatest accomplishment. We stick together.

Being an author can be tough work. What’s your biggest challenge right now? Biggest success?

I would say my biggest challenge is finding time to do everything. I still have ten to fourteen books that I have shelved right now because I don’t have the time to get them all out. I constantly have to remind myself that timing is everything. I will get them out when I get them out. The pressure I put on myself is crazy with that kind of stuff. I’m learning, though to not do that. My biggest success being an author to me has just been getting my books out to readers.  Meeting readers and connecting with other authors is amazing. When I meet someone who has read my books and gets my characters…it is the best feeling I’ve ever had. I just smile so big as they talk to me about my characters. It is crazy, but so fulfilling.

dreamgirls.png

What bands are you currently stalking? J Do you listen to their music when you write?

I stalk daily! 😉 I listen to everything while I’m writing. I’d say right now, I’m digging Hoodie Allen, Eric Church, Halestorm, Hedley, and James Morrison. Always James Morrison. Ha!

Where can readers find out more about you or your work? On which sites are you most active?

I’m most active on Instagram/Facebook/Twitter. I’m super bad at social media, so since those are the easiest for someone who is technology challenged, that is where I hang out most.

Instagram: carriethomas_author

Facebook: CarrieThomasAuthor

Twitter: @Carriethomas138

Any parting words for our readers?

Thank you to anyone who has checked out my books, shared my books with your friends or your favorite blogs, left reviews or squealed after you finished it. I’m so thankful for people who read and who spread the word about books they love. 

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

I was delighted! Thank you for having me and for some of the best questions I’ve ever answered during an interview! ❤


If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

Shana Vanterpool  |  Gen Ryan  |  Jennifer L. Allen  |  J.C. Hannigan

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Current Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Author Interview Series: Carrie Thomas

Leave a Reply

