Author Interview Series: Grace Harper

The Author Interview Series continues!!

Grace Harper.png

Today on the blog we are featuring Grace Harper, author of the Geary Brothers Series and The Catherine Brodie Chronicles.

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

I started writing about three years ago. My best friend had listened to me talking about a story I had in my head about a young woman in her twenties who had lost her family abruptly. On and on I clucked about what would happen next, how she would find her peace. Her response was always, ‘shut up and write the book’ so I did. I was talking about the Catherine Brodie Chronicles. It wasn’t until she read a short story I wrote and loved it that I had the courage to write a novel.

I never thought I would feel such contentment than when I carve a story. It’s a shame it took me forty years to work it out.

You now have eight books listed on Amazon. Congratulations! As your list of publications has increased, how do you keep generating fresh ideas?

Ideas appear out of nowhere, reading a magazine, listening to strangers’ stories on the train going to work. I have many books planned for the next four years. My biggest fear is that I’ll run dry of stories to tell.

teaser.jpg

What have you learned during the publication process? What would you do differently the next time around?

There is nothing like pressing the publish button, it’s a heady experience. I always suffer a book publish hangover where for a few days I don’t know what to do with myself. But, I learned so very quickly that pressing publish is only the beginning. That book is one of 3.5 million books on Amazon. The reality of selling books (if you want them to be sold) is getting reviews, what people don’t tell you is that it doesn’t matter what star rating they are. If the reviews are in place, then it shows that people are reading the stories. There are very few people who will steer clear of a book solely on a single review. Most readers want to make up their own mind. I have never courted reviews, it makes me shudder to ask. I would change that outlook if I would do it again.

How did you get involved in the They Say I’m Doing Well project? What can you tell readers about the collaboration?

I got involved with that anthology after I participated in Lisa Fulham’s ‘Framed’ Anthology which Sarah was involved with. There are so many facets to mental health awareness and I wrote about dementia in a woman in her thirties. She was ridiculed at her workplace, her work colleagues assumed she was strange but in fact she had early dementia. A lot of people assume dementia is for the elderly. I wanted to raise awareness that it isn’t. The group of authors that contributed as amazing and have made a whole new group of friends.

How would you describe your writing style? What makes your work stand out?

I’m not a classical writer, I don’t think when I write, I just want to tell a story. I try and lure the reader into my mindset and see the characters through my eyes. There is an uneven pace to the story but (I hope) the reader doesn’t notice. The story will gallop along, but slow down at the important parts. The detail will be there when I want the reader to take notice of a scene. Every scene is there for a reason (even if you don’t know it until the end).

What’s next for your writing career? What are you working on now?

I’m writing the final book of the Catherine Brodie Chronicles to complete her story. It spans a decade of her life and carries the reader through how she overcomes survivor’s guilt. We dip into her life every birthday from twenty to thirty-one. It is due out on August 3rd. I also write as Olivia Purley, under that penname, I write short story erotica. I have two books coming out in September and November. In September there is a novel about two weeks in a seaside town, 12 different couples enjoying their own summer romance. Then in November is the final novella of the Scarlet Sessions, where Mistress Scarlet’s short stories are complete.

disappearance.jpg

You mention in your Goodreads bio that you enjoy dreaming up tattoo designs. How many tattoos have you designed? How many have you had done? Has anyone else used one of your designs? 🙂

I love tattoos, I have three fairly large pieces. One was designed for me, it has a name of a loved one as well as a symbol of my biggest fear. It was to remind me to face my fears no matter what. I have another large one of a dragon (I’m welsh) and a third that has books and musical notes. The musical notes are of songs that take me back to special times in my life. Thankfully the tattooist is banned from showing my ink and I don’t show them publicly either. They are on my torso and legs.

Where can readers find out more about you or your work? On which sites are you most active?

I am most active on Facebook as there isn’t a limit on the number of words I can use, like Twitter, I post there every day. I keep everything up to date so, Goodreads, Website, Twitter, Instagram, Facebook group/page/profile will always have what I’m doing as it happens. Any updates are posted everywhere are the same time.

Is there anything I haven’t asked you yet that you would like to share with the Book Buddy readers?

I am in love with love. I believe that if you are meant to fall in love, that the person will be presented to you until you open your eyes and see them. It took ten years for Catherine Brodie to work out that Alexander Devlin was the person she was meant to spend the rest of her life with. Not everyone gets to fall in love and not everyone gets to spend a long time with them, some only have them for a few weeks.

All my stories are about falling in love, about the men and women who have the patience to wait until the other is ready to fall in love too.

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

Thank you for having me.

graceharper.png


If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

Shana Vanterpool  |  Gen Ryan  |  Jennifer L. Allen  |  J.C. Hannigan

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Current Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

4 thoughts on “Author Interview Series: Grace Harper

Leave a Reply

