Author Interview Series with Connie Lafortune

Today on the blog we have author Connie Lafortune. Her latest book Bound by Steel released March 16, 2016.

Connie Lafortune.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

     I was born and raised in a small town in Northeastern Connecticut where I began writing at the tender age of eleven. I’d spend hours jotting down all of my stories in black composition notebooks. Way back then, I never thought it was within my reach to become an author. I just did it because I loved it so much. Then several years ago, I decided to take a creative writing class. And that’s when it hit me like a ton of bricks. Writing was my passion and the only one stopping me from being an author, was me.

     My first novel, Because of You was born because Hunter’s ‘voice’ was so loud, I just knew his story had to be told. But before I’d even finished, Logan boldly began revealing his compelling tale and The Claiming of Callan was created. Not long after, I had Ryker’s sexy commanding ‘voice’ guiding me throughout and Bound by Steel was conceived. So you see, with all of these gorgeous men competing for my attention I should have plenty of stories for many years to come…

23435338.jpg  Bound by Steel FOR WEB (1).jpg  CP_VB.JPG

You’ve published three books now. What have you learned along the way? What advice would you give someone just starting out?

    That marketing your book is just as important as creating one. As Indie authors, we don’t have agents or publishing companies doing it for us. We are solely responsible for managing our ‘business.’ And with thousands of e-books being released on a daily basis, you better be prepared to stand out. In order to do that, you’ll need a captivating cover, a riveting blurb and bloggers who are willing to help you with cover reveals, book releases and blog tours. Without them, you’ll slowly slip into oblivion. They’re hard to find but once you do, their friendships are well worth the wait.

     My only advice would be; write a good book, have it professionally edited and do your homework before publishing. Knowledge is key and once it’s out there, you can’t get it back.

 

LyssJ8PE.jpg

The blurb for Bound by Steel is so engrossing! Where did you get the idea for the story?

      Thanks Amy! The premise of the story came to me in a dream. I know, it’s an old cliché but it’s true. Then I started to give it some serious thought. What would happen if the protagonist rescued a woman who looked exactly like the one he was trying to forget? Would he let her leave? Or would he keep her for his own selfish reasons? After that, Bound by Steel took on a life of its own and the rest is history as they say.

What’s next for your writing career? What are you working on now?

     Well, I’ve just recently announced the title of my fourth book which will be released in 2017. Stop the Rain was actually inspired by a young man who approached me to write his story. Exciting, right? Absolutely! Obviously, this is new to me since this is the first time a ‘character’ contacted me. So, I’ve been gathering every little detail and tidbit of information that he’s willing to reveal so I can do him justice. I’m honored that he’s willing to put his trust in me to tell his story and I’m forever grateful for the opportunity. He’s a very brave and charismatic young man who’s had a rough start in life. Which is why he’s willing to come forward. He knows there are many of you out there who will see yourself through his eyes. ‘Noel’ feels if he can save just one of you, then his journey will not have been in vain.

What inspires you as a writer? From where do you draw your motivation?

    Inspiration is all around me. All I need to do is keep my eyes wide-open and observe my surroundings. Everyone that I come in contact with on a daily basis has their own hidden story. It’s just up to me to put their thoughts and feelings down on a piece of paper, for all of you to read and enjoy.  When you’re passionate about writing, all you need is your imagination to take you wherever you want to go. Then the sky’s the limit!

    My motivation is—hands down—my characters. Through them, I can fabricate an intricate tale of deceit, intrigue and passion. Or a story based on love, loss and holding on to family secrets. I simply let their ‘voice’ guide my fingers while I’m documenting their journey. Never knowing where it’s going to take me.

QOvDWsu9.png

What is one thing you wish readers knew about you or your work?

    This one’s easy. I’d like all of them to know that music plays an important role in my life. Especially, since I was surrounded by a family of musicians. Mom played the piano, Dad played the guitar and my brother played the drums. I on the other hand, couldn’t play an instrument if my life depended on it, so I would sing and dance. Hence, the reason I’m a writer because unfortunately I can’t hold a tune. I love to listen to music while I’m writing. It’s the perfect way to set the mood and the tone of a story. I wanted to include a playlist at the end of my first two novels but time wouldn’t allow. So instead, I’ve added the playlists to my website. Fortunately, I learned from my mistakes and I was able to add a playlist to Bound by Steel.

You mention in your bio loving to curl up with a good book. What have you read lately that really stood out? Are there any books you are looking forward to reading next?

     Wow, that’s a tough one since I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like to. In fact, I have five pages on my Kindle right now that need my undivided attention. But if I had to choose one, I’d have to say the Sun and the Moon by Leslie McAdam. It’s brilliant! If you haven’t read it, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy.

      I’m chomping at the bit to read, Je Suis a Toi by Pepper Winters. The fourth and final book in the Monsters in the Dark series. I love, love, love Tess and Q and I can’t wait to find out if they’ve found their HEA.

Bound By Steel Teaser 5 - Hot.png

Where can readers find out more about you or your books? On which sites are you most active?

    They can go to my website www.connielafortune.com and read excerpts and teasers from all three of my books. Some of them are quite ‘steamy’ so it’s not for the faint of heart. They can also subscribe to my newsletter, so they’ll get the latest news and announcements. I’d love for them to follow me on Twitter www.twitter.com/connielafortune, where I spend way too much time! Or they can stalk me on Facebook www.facebook.com/Connie-Lafortune and like my page while they’re visiting.

Any parting words for our readers?

    To never give up on their dreams! I am living proof that you are never too old to pursue what you’re passionate about. And when you do, life takes on a whole new meaning.

     Thanks so much for inviting me to be a part of the Author Interview Series, Amy. I had a ball!

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

Watch the Trailer for Bound By Steel HERE

If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

Shana Vanterpool  |  Gen Ryan  |  Jennifer L. Allen  |  J.C. Hannigan

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

