Interview with Bree Barcellona

Today on the blog we have author Bree Barcellona. Her debut novel Singing with a Billionaire just released May 11, 2016.

Bree Barcellona.png

To start things off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself and your background as an author?

Bree: First, I would like to thank you for letting me take part in your blog’s author interview series. As you know Singing with a Billionaire is my first published novel, but it is not the first full finished manuscript I have written. I have also written six other books, but never felt they were good enough to be published. Over the time of writing them I have learned so much (which I’ll talk about more in the next question) and feel like my writing has (hopefully) greatly evolved. Though never in a million years did I ever think I would become a published author. Actually, growing up my dream was to become a nurse. Though due to life circumstances I wasn’t able to attend nursing school, which I am now thankful for. I now see it was a blessing in disguise because I am now happier than ever and ready to continue my journey as a writer.

Congratulations on the publication of your first novel! What’s one thing you learned along the way? What advice would you give someone who is just starting out?

Bree: Thank you so much! This question is tricky one because I have learned so much. So I picked my top three. First, make sure to write every day. Even if you don’t feel like it or think you don’t have time or even just 1000 words. Write every day! Second, write your entire first draft before editing. This was a HUGE mistake I made when I first began writing. I would write three or four chapters then stop and focus on perfecting them before writing again. Lastly, never compare yourself or your writing to another author. We all enjoy reading other authors books and looking up to them, but just because they write a certain way that may be different from yours, doesn’t mean yours is bad. When you spend too much comparing yourself to them, it only causes self-doubt, which will become your worst enemy.

What can we expect in book two of the series? Will the books be standalone novels?

Bree: The next book in the series, More than Singing, is the second half and conclusion of Reece and Taylor’s story. You will also see more of a character that was introduced in the first novel and get answers to few things that were left opened. You would need to read the first novel, Singing with a Billionaire, in order to understand the second. But the third book (which I’m still keeping the name a secret) can be read without reading the first two novels since it begins the story of a new couple.

What makes Singing with a Billionaire stand out from other billionaire romances?

Bree: Of course, I wanted to add a hot billionaire and even hotter sex, but I wanted it to be more than just a love story between a man and a woman. I wanted to add all forms of love. The type of love that makes you sacrifice or love that makes you discover other forms of love. I like to say it has heart, hotness, and happily ever after!

720354369_orig.jpg

Love it! The 3 Hs! 🙂

What inspires you as a writer? From where do you draw your motivation?

Bree: I would say 90 percent of my inspiration and motivation comes from my father, who raised me, and my boyfriend of 9 years. Not only from the obstacles they have overcome in life but they have lifted me up many times and given me non-stop support. When I think of them and all they have done for me, it makes me want to be a better person.

What is one thing you wish readers knew about you or your work?

Bree: This is just a random fact, but I thought I’d share it. When I first created my pen name so I could sign up for social media, I made my first name “Bree” with two E’s instead of “Bri” (which is how I always spelt) so that no one I knew could look me up. I was still scared of failing and I didn’t want everyone I knew to be disappointed if I didn’t succeed. But Barcellona is my real last name.

You mention in the bio on your blog that writing a book was part of your bucket list. What else is on your list? What have you already crossed off?

Bree: I have some of the normal ones such as get married and have kids, but I also have learn to play the piano, meet and see Celine Dion in concert, and visit one of the seven wonders of the world, Christ the Redeemer in Rio. But honestly, I haven’t really crossed off any, other than write a book. I only keep adding, but I know I need to jump on doing more. 

What books are up next for you on your E reader? Is there anything out now you can’t wait to read?

Bree: I have many books on my E reader I want to read, if I could find the time. I’m defiantly guilty of buying so many more books than I have time to read. But I am really excited for Abbi Glines novel, Up in Flames that is coming out in July.

Where can readers find out more about you or your books? On which sites are you most active?

Bree: To find out more about me and my books you can check out my website, www.breebarcellona.com. But I am most actively on Twitter (@breebarcellona) and check Facebook daily (I’m still trying to get the hang of it). But you can also follow me on Goodreads or send me an email at Breebarcellona@gmail.com.

Is there anything I haven’t asked you that you want to share with the Book Buddy readers?

Bree: I think you asked many great questions and thank you again. I just want to add that I thank all the readers also, who have already purchased my book and took a chance on a new author. I appreciate each and every one of you.

Thank you so much for joining in on the Author Interview Series!!

If you enjoyed this interview, check out some of the other interviews in the series!

Shana Vanterpool  |  Gen Ryan  |  Jennifer L. Allen  |  J.C. Hannigan

Logo_Name

Author Sign-up for Blog Tours

Visit us:
Facebook
 | Twitter | Google+ | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

